Join over 18,000 subscribers and receive the region's top stories in your inbox every Saturday afternoon for FREE

Don’t worry we won’t fill your inbox up or ever share your email address with anyone. GDPR Compliant



Fresh Look to Union’s Board of Directors


Borders livestock farmer Nigel Miller has entered his final year as President of NFU Scotland.  Mr Miller, who was first elected to the post in February 2011, will complete his second and final two-year term as President at the next AGM scheduled, for St Andrews in February 2015.


For his final year in post, his Vice Presidents will remain as Fife arable farmer Allan Bowie and Borders livestock producer, Rob Livesey.  Both Vice Presidents were returned unopposed at the Union’s AGM in St Andrews on Tuesday, 11 February. Allan Bowie has been Vice President since February 2009 while this is Rob Livesey’s second year in the post.


NFU Scotland has a fresh look to its Board of Directors for 2014/15 with a number of new regional chairmen and committee leads also joining the top table.


President Nigel Miller, who chaired the first Board meeting of the new term said:

“Having just completed our centenary celebrations, it is clear that NFU Scotland remains a lead organisation in Scottish agriculture because of the time and effort that those who hold office – whether at branch, region or national level – are prepared to put aside for their fellow farmers.


“This board takes up office at a hugely important time for the industry with the CAP Reform process and independence debate entering the final stages. In addition, every sector of our farming industry faces a growing list of challenges. This is a team with the skills and knowledge to meet those challenges on behalf of our members.” 




·         Nigel Miller, Stagehall, Stow, Selkirkshire Nigel farms 550 hectares in partnership with two of his sons in the Scottish Borders. The upland hill farm supports 175 cows and 950 breeding ewes. Traditional beef breeds are the basis of the beef enterprise. Aberdeen Angus cross steers are sold through the auction ring with a percentage of heifers being contract finished near Kelso. The sheep flock is founded on Lairg type Cheviots. Spring barley and triticale are grown as feed. Nigel, a former vet, started his NFU Scotland career as Chairman of the West Berwick Branch and is a past Chair of the Livestock Committee. Nigel was Vice-President from March 2007 and elected President in 2011.


·         Allan Bowie, The Haining, Strathkinness High Road, St Andrews Allan is married with 2 sons and a daughter. He farms in North East Fife majoring on growing cereals. The area farmed extends to about 500 acres on short limited duration tenancy/contract farming agreements. In addition, the business grazes a number of suckled calves. He was chair of the North East Fife branch and served 2 years as chairman for East Central region. Allan has been Vice-President since February 2009.


·         Rob Livesey, Firth, Catshawhill, Melrose Rob (52) is married to Kath with two sons, Rory and Iain. Kath and Iain both work at home while Rory is a trainee auctioneer. The family has been a tenant at the 600 acres Firth Farm since November 1998. A further 180 acres are owned or let on various arrangements. The family run 1100 Mule ewes, 80 Salers suckler cows and grow around 120 acres of grain. Prior to taking on the tenancy at Firth, Rob was farm manager at Glenapp Estate, Ballantrae. Rob is a former chairman of both the Girvan (now part of South Ayrshire) and Selkirk branches. He had been Livestock Committee Chairman for four years.


  • The other members of the new Board of Directors at NFU Scotland for 2014/15 are:


Chief Executive – Scott Walker

Treasurer – George Lawrie, Grianan, Milnathort


Regional Board Chairmen


Dumfries & Galloway – Andrew McCornick, Barnsbackle, Lochfoot, Dumfries

Argyll & The Islands – John Semple, Ellary Estate, Achahoish, Lochgilphead

Ayrshire – John Wildman, Overcairn, New Cumnock

East Central – James Adam, Highholm, Dunfermilne

Forth & Clyde – Tom French, Balgray, Crawfordjohn, Biggar

Highland – Jim Whiteford, Shandwick Mains, Tain (replacing Hugh Fraser)

Lothian & Borders – Stewart McNicol, Castleton Farm, North Berwick (replacing Iain Orr)

North East – Roddy Catto, Hillhead of Muirton, Aberdeen (replacing Charlie Adam)

Orkney & Shetland – Brian Moss, Muckle Ocklester, Holm, Orkney (replacing Cecil Eunson)


Committee Chairmen

Combinable Crops – Andrew Moir, Thornton Mains, Laurencekirk

Environment & Land Use – Gerald Banks, Fridayhill, Maud, Peterhead

Legal & Technical – John Smith, Drumalea, Kilkenzie, Campbeltown

Less Favoured Areas – Lachlan Maclean, Calachaig, Gruline, Isle of Mull

Livestock – Charlie Adam, Braeside, Cushnie, Alford, Aberdeenshire (replacing Alastair Martin)

Milk – Gary Mitchell, West Galdenoch, Stoneykirk, Stranraer

Pigs & Poultry – to be confirmed following forthcoming meetings of the pigs and poultry working groups.

Specialist Crops – Russell Brown, Inverdovat, Newport-on-Tay

Latest Articles