New ‘Dumfries Town Board’ Members Announced

Back in September 2023 the UK Government launched its ‘Long-Term Plan for Towns’, supporting 55 UK towns including seven in Scotland, one of which was Dumfries, as part of the Levelling-Up programme.

Over the next 10 years Dumfries town will receive £20 million in endowment-style funding.

Detailed guidance was published in December 2023 on the process for establishing a Town Board to develop and deliver a Long-Term Plan for Dumfries and what best to spend the allotted funding on.

A newly chosen chairperson of the Town Board, local business owner, Richie Nicoll will work with the board members, to focus on the Long-Term Plan, and they will develop a 10-year vision, and an initial 3-year investment plan.

Richie told DGWGO “As Chair, I am absolutely delighted with the response from the below volunteers.  I have selected an energised board that brings a fantastic array of experience to the table from variable backgrounds.  What is abundantly clear after last night’s inaugural board meeting, is the passion from every single individual to make Dumfries better”.


The new Dumfries Town Board Members Are :-


Nominee  / Organisation if applicable

Richie Nicoll – Local Business Owner – Chair

Billy Currie – Dumfries & Galloway College – Director of Estates and Sustainability

Kenny Bowie – D&G Chamber of Commerce – President, SPEN – District General Manager

Lisa Callender – Bone – Include Us / Catherine Street Inclusive Park.

Tom McAuchtrie – Retired Councillor

John Dowson – Community Councillor & Retired Business Owner

Jamie Milligan – Business Owner – Restaurant/Publican Owner (The Swan & Steamboat)

Dale Graham – Retired – Police Sgt

Laura Thomas – Helping Dumfries & Galloway / Rosefield Mills Gallery CIC Director

AnneMarie Coulter MBE – Summerhill Community Centre Manager

John Caskie MBE –  Retired. Community Champion & Guid Nychburris Association Chairman

Local Policing Commander – Police Scotland – Divisional Commander (Mandatory Appointment)

Cllr Maureen Johnstone – D&G Council (Mandatory Appointment)

Cllr David Slater – D&G Council (Mandatory Appointment)

Rt Hon Alister Jack – UKGov – MP Dumfries & Galloway/Sec of State for Scotland (Mandatory Appointment)