Extraordinary Public Service At Centre Of New Year Honours List 2021

The 2021 New Year Honours list recognises the achievements of a wide range of extraordinary people across the United Kingdom. Dumfries and Galloway has been well represented once again with honours going to People from right across the region. 

Recipients of The Queen’s New Year Honours in Dumfries and Galloway include
Order of the British Empire (OBE) Go to
OBE – Isabella Jean Farish  for services to the community in Dalbeattie and Kippford.
Member of the Order of the British EmpireMBE ) Go to
MBE – George McKenzie,  (Port William Inshore Rescue Service) for services to Maritime Safety in Scotland.
MBE – Jacqueline Bell, Lochmaben, for services to Education and to charity.
British Empire Medal’s go to 
BEM – Graham Watson, (Main Image) for services to the community of Moniaive and Glencairn, during Covid-19.
BEM – Ann Hill,  for voluntary and charitable services to the community in Dumfriesshire.
BEM – Myra Smith,  for services to the economy in Dumfries during the Covid-19 Response.
BEM- Jessie Thomson  for services to the community of Wigtown.
BEM – Patricia Ann Holt,  for services to poetry.


Other Recipients of The Queen’s New Year Honours in Scotland include:

Knighthood for:

  • Professor Francis McCormac for services to education and to the economy

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) include:

  • Caroline Gardner for services to the Scottish public sector
  • Peter Dawson for services to golf
  • Maureen McGinn for services to civil society
  • Professor Ian Finlay for services to medical education and training
  • Professor Sheila Rowan MBE for services to science
  • Professor Bashabi Fraser for services to education, culture and integration in Scotland
  • Professor Petra Wend for services to higher education

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) include:

  • Michael Bullock for services to the safety and welfare of seafarers
  • Philip Archer for services to art and education
  • Dr Beverly Bergman for services to veterans in Scotland
  • Donalda Bradbury for services to Rugby Union
  • Dr Hermione Cockburn for services to public engagement in science
  • Richard Paterson for services to the Scotch Whisky industry
  • Ann McVie for public service

Among those to be made Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) are:

  • Paul Miller for services to retail customers during the COVID-19 response
  • Colleen Blair for services to swimming
  • Rosemary Brewster for services to end of life care
  • Professor Geoffrey Codd for services to water quality
  • Robert Dick for services to disability sport
  • Ronald Loveland and Joyce Loveland for services to foster care in Moray
  • Kenneth MacKay for services to the community in Rhenigidale, Western Isles
  • Robert Rankin for services to civil engineering and to innovation
  • Vinaykant Ruparelia for services to local enterprise, tourism and to the community in Portsoy, Banffshire
  • Alexander Watt for services to young people with additional needs and disabilities and to community cohesion in Glasgow

Among those to become a Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM) are:

  • Charandeep Singh for services to charity during the COVID-19 response
  • Maxine Allan for services to young people with cancer and NHS front line workers in Ayr during the COVID-19 response
  • Jacqueline Campbell for charitable services to the Children’s Hospital Association Scotland, particularly during the COVID-19 response
  • Margaret Cook for services to Ayrshire Hospice
  • Richard Foxley for voluntary service to the NHS during the COVID-19 response
  • William Henderson for voluntary service in the Shetland Islands
  • Jamie Kinlochan for services to the vulnerable during the COVID-19 response through Who Cares Scotland
  • Paula Morag Lloyd for services to the vulnerable in Inverness during the COVID-19 response
  • Mary Nelson for services to Homeless People in Moray
  • Charlotte Park for services to the Armed Forces
  • Mohammed Usman Rakq for services to education and to students with hearing impairments
  • Keith Rutherford for services to the community in Colonsay and Oronsay
  • Jackie Stuart for services to law and order and cultural heritage

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said:

In a year when so many have made sacrifices to protect our NHS and save people’s lives, the outstanding efforts of those receiving honours today are a welcome reminder of the strength of human spirit, and of what can be achieved through courage and compassion.
The 2021 New Year Honours offer us an opportunity to salute their dedication and recognise many who have gone above and beyond in their contribution to our country.
As we begin a new year and continue to come together to fight this virus, may their service and stories be an inspiration to us all.

The honours system continues to champion diversity at all levels and celebrates the breadth of service given by people from all backgrounds from all across the UK. Of the 1,239 people who receive an award:

  • 1,123 candidates have been selected at BEM, MBE and OBE level:
    • 397 at BEM
    • 476 at MBE
    • 250 at OBE
  • 803 (65%) of the recipients are people who have undertaken outstanding work in their communities either in a voluntary or paid capacity;
  • 603 women are recognised in the List, representing 49% of the total;
  • 14.2% of the successful candidates come from a BAME background;
  • 6.9% of the successful candidates consider themselves to have a disability (under the Equality Act 2010); and
  • 4% of recipients identified as being LGBT+.

The Full List can be seen Here

Latest Articles