Pharmacy High Flyers Celebrated At NHS D&G Awards

Teams from across the region came together to put a spotlight on achievements being delivered on the ground at the first annual NHS Dumfries and Galloway pharmacy awards.


Graeme Bryson, Director of Pharmacy, said: “These awards provided an opportunity for us as leaders to say thank you to the professionals who go above and beyond every day in this organisation.
“The awards were designed to recognise local excellence across a range of services.
“The judges were external to NHS Dumfries and Galloway and the results were simply amazing.”


The awards included three categories: Pharmacy Colleague of the Year, Pharmacy Service Development and Outstanding Contribution to Pharmacy Services.


The winners were:


Pharmacy Colleague of the Year – Lucy Little


It was recognised that Lucy always strives to make the service better while trying to encourage each individual to be the best they can be.  She is a supportive and understanding manager who makes being in her team a great experience.  Lucy has developed the Annandale and Eskdale Pharmacy Hubs, whilst she continues to develop her own clinical practice and champions the roles of others.


Outstanding Contribution to Pharmacy – Ellie Copeland


Ellie was recognised for being a proactive professional who can hear about issues and come up with solutions and drive improvement.  She has become a system expert in the new controlled drug management system within DGRI.  Ellie took a whole system approach to change, working well with a wide range of stakeholders.  She is an inspirational member of the acute pharmacy technical team.


The Outstanding Contribution to Pharmacy Award – The Specialist Drug and Alcohol Service Pharmacy Team


The team was praised for the work that has been achieved in the medium to longer term to shape services to meet the healthcare needs of people in Dumfries and Galloway.


The team’s contribution has ensured that Dumfries and Galloway is leading the way in Scotland for the use of buprenorphine supported by project evaluation and service user feedback, and multidisciplinary work to achieve the medication-assisted treatment (MAT) standards for people dependent on opioid drugs such as morphine or heroin.  The team includes Sam Nairn, Mark Blount, Sean Steele and Eilish Bell.


Latest Articles