New Look To NFU Scotland’s Board Of Directors


At last Friday’s Council meeting in Glasgow (8 February), Dumfriesshire farmer Andrew McCornick was re-elected, unchallenged, as the President of NFU Scotland. Perthshire farmer Martin Kennedy and Charlie Adam from Aberdeenshire were elected as the Union’s Vice Presidents.

The presidential position is held for two years and a President can serve a maximum of two consecutive two-year terms.  Anyone elected to the position of Vice President for the first time, will initially serve for two years before the post reverts to an annual election.

As Martin Kennedy was re-elected to the position of Vice President, he will need to stand again next year if he wants to continue on for more than the year. Charlie Adam will not have to stand for re-election for two years.

There were several other changes to regional and committee roles meaning that the Union’s board has a few new faces.  The only new regional chairman is Alan Corrigall (Orkney).  The new chairman of the Union’s influential Livestock Committee is Ayrshire farmer Jimmy Ireland, Darvel, who replaces Charlie Adam, while Dumfries and Galloway dairy farmer Colin Ferguson joins as the Next Generation Chairman.


  • The members of the Board of Directors at NFU Scotland are:

President – Andrew McCornick, Barnbackle, Lochfoot, Dumfries

Vice President – Martin Kennedy, Lurgan, Edradynate, Aberfeldy

Vice President – Charlie Adam, Braeside, Cushnie, Alford, Aberdeenshire

Treasurer – Gerald Banks, Fridayhill, Maud

Chief Executive – Scott Walker

Regional Board Chairmen

Argyll & The Islands – John Dickson, Scalpsie, Rothesay, Bute

Ayrshire – Colin Mair, Montgomerieston Farm, Dalrymple

Dumfries & Galloway – Rupert Shaw, Gledpark, Borgue

East Central – Roddy Kennedy, Borlick, Killiechassie, Aberfeldy

Forth & Clyde – Willie Harper, Gryffewraes, Bridge of Weir

Highland – Martin Birse, Pitgaveny Farms, Elgin

Lothian & Borders – Kelvin Pate, Aikeyside Farm, Haddington

North East – David Winton, Haugh of Birse, Aboyne

Orkney & Shetland – Regional Chairman – Alan Corrigall, Braebister, Dounby, Orkney ; Regional Vice Chairman – Cecil Eunson, Griesta Farm, Griesta, Tingwall, Shetland

Committee Chairmen

Combinable Crops – Ian Sands, Townhead, Balbeggie, Perth

Environment & Land Use – Angus MacFadyen, Bragleenmore, Oban

Legal & Technical – Jamie Smart, Balderston, Linlithgow

Less Favoured Areas – Robert Macdonald, Castle Grant Home Farm, Grantown-On- Spey

Livestock – Jimmy Ireland, Feoch Farm, Darvel

Milk – John Smith, Drumalea Farm, Campbeltown

Pigs – Jamie Wylie, Ruchlaw Mains, East Lothian

Poultry – Robert Hay, Luncarty Farm, Aberdeenshire

Specialist Crops – James Porter, East Scryne, Carnoustie