New Look To NFU Scotland’s Board Of Directors


There is a new look to NFU Scotland Board of Directors.

At Tuesdays  Council meeting in Glasgow (7 February), Dumfriesshire farmer Andrew McCornick was elected the 62nd President of NFU Scotland. Perthshire farmer Martin Kennedy and Gary Mitchell from Wigtownshire are the Union’s new Vice Presidents.

The presidential position is held for two years and a President can serve a maximum of two consecutive two-year terms.  Anyone elected to the position of Vice President for the first time, will initially serve for two years before the post reverts to an annual election.  That means NFU Scotland’s new Presidential team will be unchanged until at least spring 2019.

A significant number of other changes to regional and committee roles means that the Union’s board has many new faces.  New regional chairmen include Rupert Shaw (Dumfries & Galloway); Willie Harper (Forth & Clyde); Martin Birse (Highland); Kelvin Pate (Lothian & Borders); David Winton (North East) and Jim Nicolson (Orkney & Shetland).  The new chairman of the Union’s influential Milk Committee is Cumbernauld producer James Rankin, Badenheath, who replaces Graeme Kilpatrick.

  • The members of the Board of Directors at NFU Scotland for 2017/18 are:

President – Andrew McCornick, Barnbackle, Lochfoot, Dumfries

Vice President – Martin Kennedy, Lurgan, Edradynate, Aberfeldy

Vice President – Gary Mitchell, West Galdenoch, Stoneykirk, Stranraer

Treasurer – Gerald Banks, Fridayhill, Maud

Chief Executive – Scott Walker

Regional Board Chairmen

Argyll & The Islands – John Dickson, Scalpsie, Rothesay, Bute

Ayrshire – Jimmy Ireland, Feoch Farm, Darvel

Dumfries & Galloway – Rupert Shaw, Gledpark, Borgue (replacing Gary Mitchell)

East Central – Roddy Kennedy, Borlick, Killiechassie, Aberfeldy

Forth & Clyde – Willie Harper, Gryffewraes, Bridge of Weir (replacing Tom French, Balgray, Crawfordjohn, Biggar)

Highland – Martin Birse, Pitgaveny Farms, Elgin (replacing Jim Whiteford, Shandwick Mains, Tain

Lothian & Borders – Kelvin Pate, Aikeyside Farm, Haddington (replacing Stuart McNicol, Castleton Farm, North Berwick)

North East – David Winton, Haugh of Birse, Aboyne (replacing Roddy Catto, Hillhead of Muirton, Aberdeen)

Orkney & Shetland – Regional Chairman – Jim Nicolson, Lonabrek, Aith, Shetland (replacing Paul Ross, Lenahowe, Sandwick); Regional Vice Chairman – David Scarth, Twatt Farm, Orkney

Committee Chairmen

Combinable Crops – Ian Sands, Townhead, Balbeggie, Perth

Environment & Land Use – Angus MacFadyen, Bragleenmore, Oban

Legal & Technical – Jamie Smart, Balderston, Linlithgow

Less Favoured Areas – Martin Kennedy, Lurgan, Edradynate, Aberfeldy

Livestock – Charlie Adam, Braeside, Cushnie, Alford, Aberdeenshire

Milk – James Rankin, Badenheath, Cumbernauld (replacing Graeme Kilpatrick, Craigie Mains, Kilmarnock)

Pigs & Poultry – Kevin Gilbert, Womblehill, Kintore, Inverurie

Specialist Crops – James Porter, East Scryne, Carnoustie

Latest Articles