Annandale and Eskdale Primary Schools Netball Festival 2018

School netball teams attended the annual Annandale and Eskdale Primary Schools Netball Festival held at Hecklegirth Primary School.

The event forms part of the annual primary schools sporting calendar, sponsored by Magnox Limited.

The event, run by the Council’s Active Schools and Community Sport had more than 100 children competing in the small or large schools Fun 5s events

In the small schools finals, Canonbie Primary School B Team overcame Kirkpatrick Fleming Primary to win the gold medals.

Canonbie Primary A defeated Cummertrees to win the bronze medals in third place.

In the large school events, Hecklegirth A defeated Newington A to win the large schools event.

Langholm Primary overcame Elmvale Primary School A to win bronze.

Two awards, chosen by the umpires, were awarded to players who showed best sportsmanship, effort and general all round good play. These were awarded to Olivia Nicholson from Brydekirk Primary School in the small schools event and Holly Williamson from Elmvale Primary School in the large schools event.

The trophies, medals and certificates were presented by Karen Bratton from Magnox Limited who said:“It was a great event to watch and the standard of play from all the girls was excellent. I would like to congratulate all the girls involved on showing great determination, team spirit and enthusiasm for the game.”

Councillor Jeff Leaver, chair of the Children, Young People and Lifelong Learning committee, said: “Well done to all the children who took part in this annual event and congratulations to the winning teams. It is great to see such a large turnout of teams represented from various schools across the area.”
Councillor Ros Surtees, vice chair, said: “Thank you to Magnox Limited for its support; to the umpires and helpers for giving up their time; and to Hecklegirth Primary for once again hosting the festival.”


Holly Williamson, Elmvale Primary School
Karen Bratton, Magnox Limited
Olivia Nicholson, Brydekirk Primary School, Individual winners

Large Schools Winners, Hecklegirth Primary A

Large Schools 2nd, Newington Primary A

Large Schools 3rd, Langholm Primary

Small Schools Winners, Canonbie Primary B

Small Schools 2nd, Kirkpatrick Fleming

Small Schools 3rd, Canonbie Primary A



Latest Articles