Team Mouat & Team Morrison Take Scottish Curling Men’s & Women’s Titles

Team Mouat – Bruce Mouat, Grant Hardie, Bobby Lammie, Hammy McMillan, Edinburgh and Team Morrison, Rebecca Morrison, Gina Aitken, Sophie Sinclair, Sophie Jackson have won the national men’s and women’s title respectively at the Scottish Curling Championships 2023. The tournament ran from 6 to 11 February at Dumfries Ice Bowl.


Team Mouat (Bruce Mouat, Grant Hardie, Bobby Lammie, Hammy McMillan) (Edinburgh) secured their fourth Scottish Men’s title, making them the joint most successful quartet in the championships’ history. They edged victory by a single point in a tight final against Team J Craik (James Craik, Mark Watt, Angus Bryce, Blair Haswell) (Forfar). Prior to the medal game, Team Mouat had gone unbeaten through the round robin and also won their page play-off fixture against Team Whyte (Ross Whyte, Robin Brydone, Duncan McFadzean, Euan Kyle) (Stirling).

In contrast, Team J Craik were fighting for their play-off spot until the very last round robin session. Their fixture against Team O Carson (Orrin Carson, Logan Carson, Archie Hyslop, Charlie Gibb) (Dumfries) was a straight shootout between the two sides, the Forfar outfit coming out on top of that one. Up against Team Whyte in the semi-final, it all came down to the last stone and Team J Craik snatched the win by a single point.

Image Credit – Scottish Curling


Team Morrison (Rebecca Morrison, Gina Aitken, Sophie Sinclair, Sophie Jackson) defended the Scottish Curling Women’s Title at the 2023 national championships held at Dumfries Ice Bowl. The Aberdeen side went unbeaten throughout the tournament, culminating in a comprehensive win over Team Young (Lesley Young, Jennifer Marshall, Eilidh Yeats, Rachel Dakers, Maggie Wilson) (Forfar) in the gold medal game.

Team Young themselves, who had formed specifically for this championship, were the big surprise of the week. Although the quintet had only got together mere weeks before the event, they kicked things off with a win in the opening draw and added another four to qualify second in the table. They bounced back from defeat in the page play-off with victory over Team Blair (Lucy Blair, Lisa Davie, Susie Smith, Holly Hamilton) (Greenacres) in the semi-final that took them to the medals.


Latest Articles