Waterbeck Wins Dumfriesshire Province Waterlow Curling Competition

The final of the 2022 Waterlow curling trophy was played on Thursday3rd November at Lockerbie ice rink.

This competition was first played on frozen lochs in 1863, with Warnlockhead winning the trophy that year.

This year’s final was between Applegarth and Waterbeck. Both clubs won one game each with Waterbeck lifting the trophy having scored four more shots.

The winning Waterbeck skips were brothers David and Gareth Owen. David Owen, assisted by Maggie Wilson, Reuben Beattie &Graham Anderson beat the rink of David Morton (Skip), David Hamilton, Finlay Lennox & Pam Parker. Gareth Owen, Stuart Grieve, Jake Beattie & Annette Owen lost to the rink of Sandy Stevenson (Skip), John Jardine, Emily Muir & Lewis Jardine.

The competition was kindly sponsored by James Jones and Son. Pictured is a photo of the winners (Left to Right) Annette Purdie, Stuart Grieve, Gareth Owen, Maggie Wilson, David Owen, Graham Anderson, Jake Beattie and Reuben Beattie.

Latest Articles