Dumfries & Galloway To Remain At Level 2 (Covid-19)

Three council areas across Scotland are to move up a protection level on Friday the 13th of November as cases of Coronavirus (COVID-19) continue to rise in their areas, however Dumfries and Galloway Will remain at Level 2.

Fife, Perth & Kinross and Angus local authority areas will move from Level 2 – where they have been since the new levels system was announced – to Level 3 with the change coming into effect from 6am on Friday 13 November.

All other local authority protection levels are unchanged.

Within Level 1, those living in Shetland, Orkney and the Western Isles will, from Friday, be able to meet one other household inside their homes, up to a maximum of six people. Guidance will issue for anyone who travels to the mainland to avoid in-home socialising for a period after their return.

Speaking in parliament this afternoon, First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said there was no immediate requirement to move any local authorities into Level 4 – the highest level – but that this was being kept under strict review.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said:

The sacrifices everyone is making are hard – and they feel never-ending. But they are helping. They have made a difference, and they are saving lives. There is no doubt that the restrictions we have put in place have dramatically slowed the spread of the virus.
“But hospital admissions are still too high. The number of new cases we are seeing – more than 1,000 a day on average – is also too high. And we cannot be sure that we are seeing a sustained fall in cases.
“As I have said repeatedly in recent days, a rising or even plateauing rate of infection is not a stable position. We want to see a decline in cases. And so we will be monitoring the situation carefully in the days ahead.
“In light of the situation I have just outlined, it would clearly not be prudent to ease restrictions today.”

The First Minister again stressed the importance of travel restrictions in bringing down the infection rate of the virus. Those in Levels 3 and 4 should not travel outside their local authority area unless travelling for essential reasons such as work, healthcare, or caring responsibilities, while those in a Level 1 or 2, should not be going into a Level 3 or Level 4 council area, except for those same essential purposes.

She added that these will remain in guidance over the next week but preparation for regulations will continue in the event they are required to be put into law.


Full National details can be found HERE

Latest Articles